• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Anyone use/like Bach 5B?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
gbdeamer
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:25 pm    Post subject: Anyone use/like Bach 5B? Reply with quote

My 10 year-old is starting to play in school and he got a Bach 5B mouthpiece with his horn. I grew up playing a 7c and eventually landed on a 3C so i have no experience with this 5B.

Looks kind of middle of the road, not too shallow, not too deep, so I'm leaning towards having him play ont it as opposed to going out and buying something different (like a 7C or 3C).

Any experience/opinions with it?
AJCarter
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the 5B. It gets a nice sound. It can be brilliant and cutting or warm and intimate. Just make sure to encourage your son to practice regularly. The only thing that bugged me at first was the bite. the inner rim felt kind of sharp, but with practice and time I got used to it.

John Hagstrom of the Chicago Symphony plays on a piece that is SIMILAR (not exactly) a 5B, or so I'm told.
BudBix
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In junior high we had a set of Bach long bell cornets with Bach 5B mouthpieces. Didn't slow anyone down. I actually find the rim on a 5B to be more comfortable than a 7C.
Irving
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That 5B rim, IMHO, is not that user friendly. I would go for something in the 8, or 6 family, referring to Bachs.
mikeman7
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A dead beginner with a 5B, thank god!!!!!