• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

embouchure damage and possible surgery

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
holeypants
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:54 pm    Post subject: embouchure damage and possible surgery Reply with quote

I'd like the share with the trumpet community some chop problems I'm going through, in the hope that my story will be of some help to somebody experiencing similar troubles, either now or in the future.

This past spring, I was finishing up my M.M. at the University of New Mexico. I spent 1.5 - 2 hours on fundamentals every day (unless I had a extremely demanding gig that day), and I considered myself a strong player from an endurance and fundamentals standpoint. While I’m studying legit playing in school, I freelance pretty extensively as a jazz/commercial player. At the time, I was doing 3 sets of salsa or top-40 lead playing once or twice a weekend, and I was in great shape for it. Or so I thought.

On Friday, May 7th, 2010, I was playing lead trumpet with my top-40 band. Toward the end of the third set, during a particularly demanding chart, I felt a slight pinch on the left side of my upper lip. There was no lingering pain, and I was able to finish the set, but something just didn't feel right, and I could feel a “ball of flesh” in the middle of my top lip. I was pretty concerned right away.

I iced my chops for about 30 minutes when I got home, then went to bed.