• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

extreme hesitation on initial attack

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ryan12345678

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:37 pm    Post subject: extreme hesitation on initial attack Reply with quote

Hey guys can somebody anybody help me! I am studying trumpet at a university level my range is fine (3octaves) and have ok flexibility and can play some big repertoire but after moving the horn from the side of my face playing on quite a downward angle to the middle of my face with lesser angle 3yrs ago i have developed a problem which no teachers have ever seen before. when i go to play a note any note under about a f on the top line of the stave i have this massive hesitation which i cant stop. sometimes its so bad i physically can't release the note at all. it feels like my throat closes to create compression and my tongue just wont move down and my lips then pinch together. My tongue is not between my teeth and a try to relax my whole body. Its at the point know where i cant stop thinking hesitation before i play. My breath attacks are fine and don't seem to help me any. This problem doesn't happen when i play in a group and at a loud dynamic. I also have problems playing and articulating at a piano dynamic. however once i play a fake test like note the initial attack works fine for the time before i take the horn off my face(i guess that makes it not a true initial attack). I spend every day trying to set my chops differently in order to solve this problem but nothing works. This is really difficult as i get paid to play part time and often need to resort to breath attacks for initial attacks. So my question is how do i fix this? and on a side note, whats the best way to set your chops before you play? and should you use closed or open apertu