• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Purpose of Trumpets In Different Keys

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lonnie123

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:23 pm    Post subject: Purpose of Trumpets In Different Keys Reply with quote

Complete newb here looking for an answer to a question I had. I have looked for the answer online and couldn't get the clarity and nuance I was looking for... So I'll ask the group here:

What is the purpose of trumpets tuned to different keys? Not speaking of something like a Piccolo or Pocket trumpet, but an Eb trumpet or a C trumpet

It seems to me a regular Bb trumpet can play all the notes the other ones can, so what is the point of buying one that is tuned to a slightly different key?

Also, do you notes read the same? Meaning is an A on the C trumpet still fingers 1 and 2?
Dale Proctor
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trumpets in different keys have a few reasons to exist. First, if the piece is written for an Eb trumpet and you have one, you read the music and finger the notes the same way you would if reading Bb music on a Bb trumpet. If you try to play music written for an Eb trumpet on a Bb instrument, you have to transpose the notes.

Second, different keyed instruments have a different sound from a Bb, and that sound may be desired for the piece of music being played.

Third, many times the music is easier to play on an instrument in the key it was originally written, with trills, fingerings, and the relative distance between notes being more manageable. This is true many times when transposed parts for Bb are available - they are more difficult to play.