• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Is it time for me to quit?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Orchestral/Chamber Music/Solo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cantusemyrealname

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:31 am    Post subject: Is it time for me to quit? Reply with quote

I need to do this anonymously because it is bad mojo to bring this up with colleagues, in my experience. The music world is far too small and I feel like I can't get advice about this from anybody without a lot of negative blowback.

Ever since I was 12 years old, I've wanted to be a professional trumpet player. I was self-taught for a year, then took lessons with a very good teacher until I went to college for music with a scholarship at a highly regarded school. I studied with a famous teacher and graduated with very little debt. I then went to another highly regarded school and studied with another famous teacher and gigged enough to pay off all of my school debt while totally supporting myself. I did a couple of the big music festivals and all that stuff throughout school. Right out of school I got a teaching job at a small college and won some auditions for little regional orchestras. I am extremely privileged and very lucky, I know that, and I am grateful for the tremendous opportunities I've been given.

Several years later here I am, thinking about quitting. I already quit my college teaching job, and I've decided not to teach any other students. I've been turning down gigs lately because they don't pay enough or sound boring. I didn't play on any holidays this year because I didn't feel like it. I turned down Easter gigs because I'd rather eat some candy and spend time with my family. This will be the first time I'm not playing an Easter gig since I was 13 years old.