• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Why does "chest up" help? (as per clarke gordon?)

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sarah
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:18 am    Post subject: Why does "chest up" help? (as per clarke gordon?) Reply with quote

Hi all. I just have a why question.

(In case you haven't crossed paths with me, I'm a musician new to trumpet, and have been reading up on pedagogy to try and learn the trumpet).

This technique "chest up" has given me an extra 4 high notes reasonably reliably. (Well.. increased my range up to G just above the stave).. but I can't conceive WHY that would achieve that. Does anyone have any idea of the mechanics of why that works?

Thanks in advance
Sarah
VetPsychWars
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your chest and airway are resonant cavities too. You change the harmonics that are produced by opening up your chest and opening up your throat.

You'll see posters following up talking about wind and unrestricted breathing and stuff like that but it's the resonances that make the difference.

Which is not to discount relaxed breathing. If everything is working properly together, you should be able to take a big breath and let it "just fall out" without pushing and using a full resonant tone. Good horns mated with a good-matching mouthpiece facilitate this so you don't have to work so hard.

Tom
GR65M, GR65 Cor #1
dstdenis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a link to a thread posted back in 2004 that describes a master class by David Krauss, principal trumpet with the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra. This popped up on another thread recently. Lots of great info in this, including posture.
Piccolo Stomvi
Turkle
Heavyweight Member