• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Why do method books now start lower?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sarah
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:51 pm    Post subject: Why do method books now start lower? Reply with quote

OK... Just in case u don't know... I am a woodwind teacher who was given a trumpet. So I am in early stages...

But I can't help thinking pedagogically.. And it got me pondering....

So books start with c and move up to second space c before moving down...

Is there a reason for this? I think (at least in my case...) that promotes tension.

Why don't books start at below the stave c and work down.. And possibly even do pedals before moving up much more gradually?

I just confess to a few expletives in practise as method books have wanted me to suddenly add range which I couldn't get....

Thanks
Sarah
Crazy Finn
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect it's for practical reasons.

The notes between C below the staff (let's call it low C) to C in the staff are very useful. They're used in elementary band music, high school solos, even in general orchestral repertoire. If you extend up to the G on the top of the staff, I'd say at least 75% of trumpet literature lies in that range.

The notes below low C aren't used often in band music or solos. They're essentially only used in trumpet exercises for the reasons you mention, to promote relaxation, flexibility, technical facility, etc.
Besson 709 Bb Trumpet
Bach 184L Bb Cornet
Yamaha 731 Bb Flugelhorn
Andy Del
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is because these are the notes you need to learn to play and developing them is critical to ongoing progress.