• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Flip Oakes Wild Thing Trumpet/ Other custom/unique horns

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Centennialsound

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:43 am    Post subject: Flip Oakes Wild Thing Trumpet/ Other custom/unique horns Reply with quote

So I'm a high school student looking for another horn as my Old's Super cornet is needing a replacement of something with more projection and more of the trumpet type sound so that I can blend easier in our symphonic band. I have held the first chair in this band for two years, and have been playing for 4-5 years, and I practice quite regularly. I have been urged by both my band teacher and my teacher to buy a new horn. I was kinda surfing around when I found a used Flip Oakes wild thing at a good price (under $2600 USD) and was wondering if it would be OK to buy untested or if that was a bad Idea. I've only heard good things about the horn but I wanted some second opinions.

Advice is appreciated

Thanks

Last edited by Centennialsound on Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Rapier232
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wild Thing is my go to trumpet and they are great trumpets. Projection will not be a problem. However I'm not sure it would be a good choice to blend in a symphonic section, WITHOUT the appropriate sized slide. A 3 or maybe you could get by with a 2. Check what slides it comes with.

Smith-Watkins Bb
Will Spencer Bb
Eclipse Flugel
Smith Watkins K2 Cornet
JP152 C Trumpet
Besson Bugle
Brad361
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote