• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

help becoming lead trumpet

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tyler Alexander

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 3:00 pm    Post subject: help becoming lead trumpet Reply with quote

ok I have a lot to post, just a heads up.
I'm a high school sophomore and I've been playing trumpet since 4th grade. freshman year my teacher told me I have a lot of potential made me realize that I'm better than I was making myself to be. I stopped taking band as a joke and as a result, I've joined my school's big band, took marching band more seriously, and moved up from symphonic to wind ensemble, taking fourth chair. The players above me were all seniors, so I was technically going to be lead by default. Early sophomore year, I realize the seriousness of this and start stepping it up. Even though I've improved a lot throughout freshman year, I realized I've been practicing wrong. ironically I only know 2 scales by heart, and the highest note I can play is a high D.

- I am in a Big Band, Marching Band and Wind Ensemble currently.

-Thank you

my mouthpieces:
-Conn 4
-Yamaha Japan 11b4

Last edited by Tyler Alexander on Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:43 am; edited 4 times in total
dstdenis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get a copy of the lead parts in the band's book and practice them for style. Playing lead isn't just pinging high notes, it's also playing with style. If you can play these parts with great style, and in tune, you'd make the band sound great. Understand that the other player might still be better than you and deserve that spot, but learning to play in tune and with style would help your band regardless of where you end up. Good luck.
Piccolo Stomvi
trpthrld
Heavyweight Member