• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Suitable French horn mouthpiece

View previous topic :: View next topic  
GaryBT

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:05 pm    Post subject: Suitable French horn mouthpiece Reply with quote

I am an moderately good amateur trumpet player who plays in a community band and a community orchestra. I am interested in learning to play the french horn to fill in when needed in the orchestra. What size french horn mouthpiece should I buy? My regular trumpet mouthpiece is a Schilke 15.
Yamaha 6810 Piccolo Trumpet
Bach FH600 Flugelhorn
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a trumpeter/French hornist, I've played a number of mpcs. but keep coming back to the Schilke 30, the original Farkas model. You might give it a try.

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn
mafields627
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The standard is a Holton Farkas MDC....kind of like the ubiquitous Bach 3C. I demo a lot for the horn players in my beginning band classes and I like something a little wider, like a Bach 11.

No representation is made that the quality of this post is greater than the quality of that of any other poster. Oh, and get a teacher!
Crazy Finn
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mafields627 wrote:
The standard is a Holton Farkas MDC....kind of like the ubiquitous Bach 3C. I demo a lot for the horn players in my beginning band classes and I like something a little wider, like a Bach 11.