• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Plastic Mouthpieces

View previous topic :: View next topic  
lewins

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:16 am    Post subject: Plastic Mouthpieces Reply with quote

I'm just a middle-aged amateur player who mostly plays at church. But I've been practicing much more frequently the last couple of years or so, and have seen some significant improvements in my playing. I've mostly played on a Bach 5C, but I purchased a Schilke 14A4a a couple of years ago, and play now quite a bit on that. However, just for fun, I bought a plastic trumpet several months ago. It came with a plastic 7C mouthpiece. It didn't dawn on me until a few weeks ago to even try the plastic mouthpiece on my regular horn. The first thing I noticed was that I love that it's at room temperature. It makes warming up much more pleasant. However, it does of course mellow the sound quite a bit.

One positive benefit is that I seemed to gain quite a bit of control on my lip slurs. After reading some on TH and other places, it seems that would be expected with a 7C. I'm not entirely sure why that is, but I would guess the shallowness of the cup???

When it comes to range, an odd benefit is that mentally I think I worry about breaking the plastic mouthpiece if I put too much pressure on it. But that is a wonderful thing for me, as someone who grew up using way too much pressure to try and hit high notes. The real thing that surprised me, though, is that I can't seem to tell any difference in range between the plastic 7C and my other mouthpieces. As a matter of fact, my range has improved quite a bit, and I can even hit a Double C with the plastic mouthpiece (it's not solid yet, but I can hit it most days)