• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

No rhythm and tempo issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
matthew.mcginn

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:39 am    Post subject: No rhythm and tempo issues Reply with quote

I only have three years under my belt(majority self taught), but I still consider myself a beginner. I have a decent tone, but being realistic that's my only boon. My bane is tempo, it's horrendous. It's to the point I rush quarter notes with the metronome, if I lose focus. This is how I describe my tempo issue. All my timing is subcutaneous, but sometimes I can be self aware about tempo. Once I'm self aware, that's all I focus on. Tone, intonation, and sometimes I lose the buzz while I'm playing. Even dancing or toe tapping to well known songs, I lose rhythm.

I don't want to come to the conclusion that I'm not musically incline, I want to get better. I'm tired of playing organized noise. I want to play music.
tpter1
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome, Matthew! I would say that we're all beginners just trying to get better. I'd also say that we are ALL musically inclined to one degree or another; we just need to tap into it.

Try playing a little game with your met on. If you can set it so that it accents beat 1 of a measure, clap along with only beat 1. If not, try counting it and clapping on only 1 of every 4 beats. This helps internalize pulse.

Other games away form the horn could include guessing fenceposts while riding as a passenger (I don;t encourage that while driving for obvious reasons... ), imitating the pages printing on a copy machine, and drumming along with popular tunes. Even air drumming. But again- not while driving!

Hope this helps...