• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Basic Range

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BillBaker

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:38 am    Post subject: Basic Range Reply with quote

I'm 15 and Ive been playing for 6 years and recently i discovered i was using bad technique (too much pressure) up to the point i realised my technique was bad i had a range up to around an D and E above the stave how ever it hadnt improved for 2 or so years (yes, i know i should have done something earlier). Ive managed to break that habit of using pressure how ever my range and stamina is significantly worse, this has been extremely frustrating. Ive been drilling arban, clarke, thibaud and arpeggios for hours every day (with proper technique) for the last month how ever im not improving at the rate i would like too. Ive tried giving myself rest days and still no improvement. I also find it really demotivating and i often end my practices angry and confused, its gotten to the point where im not finding it fun and instead of looking forward to practice i now have to force my self to do it like i did when i first started. I have many friends that play trumpet and one who is a younger has a range up to top G i asked him what he did for range and he replied "ive never thought about it." I'm also going through the invisalign treatment to fix my f****d teeth so my teeth seem to always be moving this as well has significantly worsened my range (although it wasnt meant to). I got to a music school so I have many concerts and a lot of repertoire i have to prepare for all of which require a much higher range than i currently have: around a G and A above the stave (using same pressure i do in the lower register) I hate making excuses for myself. Any ideas?