• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Seeking advice on embouchure and endurance (with videos)

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
JohnOlek

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:36 am    Post subject: Seeking advice on embouchure and endurance (with videos) Reply with quote

Background Information

I started playing trumpet when I was in 6th grade, took lessons throughout middle school and high school, then continued playing through college but didn't keep up with lessons.

When I first started, I was using a Bach 7C and played with a ton of mouthpiece pressure. It never became a problem for me in my middle school band.

In 8th grade, I got braces and had to completely change my embouchure because mouthpiece pressure does not work with braces.

After a couple of years with braces, I had almost gotten back to the range I had before (around a D above the staff). Then I got the braces off and found out my new embouchure didn't work anymore.

It took another couple of years before I got back to where I had been with braces.

Over time, I played with progressively larger Bach mouthpieces. I went from the 7C to a 5C to a 3C, which I played on for most of high school, and then I switched to a 1.5C at some point (I honestly don't remember when).

I've never felt like I've had decent endurance, especially playing anything above the staff. When I first get the trumpet out, I can pretty easily play up to a D or E above the staff, but if I play a simple melody for 15 or 20 measures (e.g. a verse to a church hymn), I would have trouble ending on an A above the staff.

Current