• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

More Top Lip in Cup???

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Thomas T

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 8:13 pm    Post subject: More Top Lip in Cup??? Reply with quote

More top lip in cup?

Comebacker 1 1/2 yrs in after 16 off & I swear, this is the fourth embouchure change since I started playing again. But...I think I may have found the right setup. I started fooling around mp buzzing in the car by putting more top lip in the cup & I've gained about 1/2 an octave on both ends of my range on the horn...more resonance, too. I've been working with this for about a week & I've got to practice more to lock in the notes on the upper end, but I think I may have FINALLY found my answer after the last 1 1/2 yrs of relearning this bastard of an instrument. Anyone else do this? More upper lip in the cup?
razeontherock
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're talking about initial placement? Sticking the metal a little higher on your face? Sure, go with that based on your results so far. Do make note of where the rim hits on the high side so you can place consistently! Pencil it in on your calendar so you'll know when you've been doing it for 2 weeks. If all is good, stick with it. If not? Muck about a bit again, seeking someplace stable and comfortable, mpc relative to teeth.
Benge.nut
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agreed with raze....sounds like you just raised your mouthpiece placement a bit.

Lots of guys play w 2/3 top lip and 1/3 bottom. Some even rest the rim on the fleshy red part of the bottom lip.