• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Lead playing breakthrough

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Air Molecules Mover
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 7:40 am    Post subject: Lead playing breakthrough Reply with quote

Dear fellow trumpet players,

I'd like to share with you all a story that happened to me the other day:

I have never considered myself as a real solid lead player, but with the years I slowly have been able to increase my usable range to a high E/F and enough endurance to allow me to survive on the first chair through a 2hrs big band gig.
That is to say that I am not a seasoned pro for that type of job, but occasionally I can sort of "hang on" the part and keep the leader and the band happy, which hopefully translates to a happy audience.

Now, the other day I had a rehearsal with a local big band. We are going through some vocal charts, with a guest singer for an upcoming gig. Everything is right up my alley, nothing crazy range wise etc...
Towards the end of the rehearsal the leader calls for an arrangement of a ballad (which will remain nameless) that has a 8 bar trumpet soli.

The lead part is written between B and F#, all above the staff, tempo at quarter = 60 !
Trumpets are in 4 part harmony.

When I see that , I sort of half jokingly say "who pulled out that f#@*£g arrangement ? " It looked like a transcription of a string part ! (Funny that I found out later that it was indeed a rip off of the original string lick)

First read through, I dropped out and froze.

So I kind of stuck my head out and spoke up as the "section leader"... I basically said that the band and the singer should select the charts more carefully so we could actually play them and sound good, blah blah....