• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

lesson teaching

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trumpetgal99

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:46 pm    Post subject: lesson teaching Reply with quote

Hello all, i am a student education major and would like to start giving lessons, do you have any tips on where i should start when it comes to teaching technique? thank you so much
zaferis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

local schools, start at the elementary level and work your way up.

talk less, play more....
Retired Air Force Bandsman
DaveH
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure the lessons address the basics or fundamentals of playing the instrument....tone quality is paramount, articulation, flexibility, embouchure development, finger dexterity, listening skills, etc. Also, work on musical expression, etudes - the development of musical sense.

As I was taught, the most important of all the "basics" is TONE or some might say, sound quality. Emphasize that beautiful, clear, and resonant tone is the player's greatest asset - not the current fixation with extreme high range playing.

There seems to be disagreement on the value of mouthpiece buzzing, but I was taught to buzz everything I played. For me, I think it was very beneficial, and I still buzz today.

My teacher used to be sure to write down all my lesson work from my various method books, solo practice, etc. on a notepad he used - this would help me to remember to practice all the things he assigned over the week (I had a lesson once a week and then went home and practiced for the next lesson).