• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

H.L. Clarke's Technical Studies, Study 7

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Do you practice the entire Clarke's Technical Studies, Study 7 in one practice session?
Yes
35%
 35%  [ 5 ]
No
64%
 64%  [ 9 ]
Total Votes : 14

Grits Burgh
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:16 pm    Post subject: H.L. Clarke's Technical Studies, Study 7 Reply with quote

I'm just now tackling this lesson for the first time and I cannot play through all of the exercises (37 of 'em) in one sitting. I presume that the pros can, but I'm no pro. I was just wondering how other people approach this particular study.

Warm regards,
Grits
King Master Bb Cornet (1945)
B&S 3145 Challenger I Series Flugelhorn
Life is short; buy every horn you want and die happy.
Dayton
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I usually play 133-150 in one session and then 151-170 in a second session.

Another approach is to play just the odd exercises the first session and then the even exercises in the second session.

It could also be done in four sessions (two per day) if that is too challenging or time consuming. (1) 133-150, odd exercises only; (2) 133-150, even exercises only; (3) 151-169, odd exercises only; (4) 151-169, even exercises only. The etude could be added to any of the sessions.

Last edited by Dayton on Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:47 am; edited 1 time in total
Trumpetingbynurture
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grits,

Isn't Jeff Purtle in South Carolina? Why don't you get lessons?
dstdenis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote