• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

I Got It!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jhatpro
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got Jerry Callet's Tongue Controlled Embouchure. It took about five re-readings of his book book and a lot of trial and error with my tongue in different positions relative to my teeth and lips, but I got it! I'm hitting Gs and As above high C, and I think I can go a lot higher as I refine the process.

Callet is right! If your tongue is in the right place, it takes less air than I ever imagined to play above high C.

I've been playing the trumpet since the early 1950s and this is the most amazing thing. I can't believe I've been at it this long and am just now figuring this out!

Outta my way, Maynard! I'm comin' through!

"The notes are there - find them.” Mingus

2021 Martinus Geelan Custom
2005 Bach 180-72R
1965 Getzen Eterna Severinsen
1946 Conn Victor
1998 Scodwell flugel
1986 Bach 181 cornet
1954 Conn 80A cornet
2002 Getzen bugle
CRJAZZMAN
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congratulations Man!
I'm sure you got plenty of responses from the Callet forum.
I don't know if I am using SC 100% correct but I do know it was by employing Callets techniques that got me past the dbl A ceiling.
So was it something in particular that you did, or more of a feel that you finally figured out?
King Legend .462 in silver
Bobby Shew Lead and Flugel mpcs
ljazztrm
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote