• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Method book to use for beginning trumpet

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
CarKee

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently got a trumpet and am learning to play it. I am an older beginner and am not in a band and do not plan to be in one. I play my trumpet at home strictly for my own enjoyment. I also play some other instruments. I have always loved the trumpet and decided to get one and learn how to play it. I have 3 different books. One is the Standard of Excellence Book 1 and the other two are Essential Elements 2000 Book 1 and the Elementary Rubank Method Book. I would like to know which one of these books would be the best for me to work with or if there is some other book that would be better for me. Right now I am kind of switching back and forth and I'm not sure that is such a good thing to do. Keep thinking maybe I should just stay with one book. I would sure appreciate any help anyone could give me about these books and which one I should use.

Carol Keeton
_Don Herman
'Chicago School' Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Intelligent switching to cover all the bases is no problem. However, it may be tough for a beginner to figure out what's best...

If you're really interested, the very best thing you could do is to get a few lessons from a good teacher.

IMHO - Don
CarKee

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote