• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Pitches on other brass pipes

View previous topic :: View next topic  
1B
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I just spent a week working on the routine and the leadpipe with a friend who is a student of Bob Slack and Charley Davis. I am primarily a Stamp disciple, but I am always willing to try something new. I found that the pipe was great for really getting my air moving. As I am a teacher, I am interested in incorporating this as a tool in my arsenal. I understand that the trumpet pipe should blow an Eb concert. What pitches should horn, trombone, euphonium, and tuba blow?
Thanks,
1B
PH
Bill Adam/Carmine Caruso Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only one I am sure of is that the trombone without the slide also blows Eb, only an octave lower than the trumpet pipe.
hose
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pat, I always understood that the exact pitch on the trpt lead pipe was of minor importance. I still struggle to get a concert Eb. D concert was OK, too. Mr. Adam had several lead pipes so as to closer match a student's lead pipe pitch. Am I correct on this?

Picketts
Yamaha 6335RC
Yamaha 8335RS
Lawler Flugel
Kanstul cornet
_Don Herman
'Chicago School' Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, as far as I know. At the ITG masterclass he gave this year (2004), he had several, and used them to match pitch with the students. He commented that the exact pitch didn't matter, but he wanted to match pitch to keep his head straight. The masterclass was awesome, btw -- what a great guy! - Don