• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

ivy league schools

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Orchestral/Chamber Music/Solo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rhinetrump

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how are their programs, orchestras?
descriptions/personal experiences/rankings?
thanks
BigBadWolf
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I was an undergrad I played in the Harvard and MIT orchestras from time to time. They were nothing to write home about.

Kevin
trpt.hick
Rafael Méndez Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yale is great. You can't find a better teacher than Allan Dean. Getting in is always a problem because he can only take a few students. Also, $$$$$$$!

Dave Hickman
hazmat
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are looking at IV league schools Yale is probably the way to go with music. But it's not going to be the same as going to a music school itf that's what you're asking. I know many people that want to go to Yale for their Graduate degrees in music.
SilverTrumpet
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yale doesn't offer an Undergrad performance degree. I really would have liked to go there, and started applying until I found that out... HAHA. But there grad school is supposedly amazing.

~J.R.R. Tolkien
buellerbueller

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote