• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Vintage King questions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FLgargoyle
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:32 pm    Post subject: Vintage King questions Reply with quote

I have a near perfect King Master Bb/C cornet. According to the serial number, it was made in 1917. One problem- it plays almost 1/2 step flat. I made a new slide out of some copper pipe fittings, and it works, but it looks ugly. Is there any way to shorten the original tuning slide (it's very small, almost the same width as the first valve slide) The one I made is about 3/4" shorter. Or would it destroy the 'value' of the horn? I paid $25 for it. The mpc. might be of the same age; it says Conn on the shank, 'Booster' on the outside of the cup, and it's a typical deep-vee w/ a small sharp rim. It works better on this horn than a modern 7C, though. I think I could grow to love this old horn; it has a very mellow tone. The original case was eaten by termites, so I made a copy and used the original hardware. It has all the slides for 'C' use, also.
'55 King Master Cornet
'40 Conn Aida Trumpet
'21 Boston Alto Horn
nieuwguyski
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jay,

I've been perusing the King cornet model list at the hnwhite.com site, and I don't see a Master Bb/C model. The C/Bb/A models I do see are the very early "Combination," and the later "Vocal." You might want to go to that site and compare your cornet to the catalog illustrations to see exactly what you have.
FLgargoyle
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote