• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Shopping for an older horn

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FLgargoyle
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 9:27 am    Post subject: Shopping for an older horn Reply with quote

I've had pretty good luck on eBay lately, and prices seem to be down going into the summer season. I bought an Olds Super that I love for trumpet work, and now I'm looking to find a deal on a cornet. I have a battered Ambassador, but it is too bright for cornet work. I have a 1917 King, but it is a little TOO old; it's kinda clunky, and intonation is iffy. Also it only works w/ a vintage (ouch) mpc. I'm currently looking at Olds, Getzen, King, Blessing, or Conn cornets, maybe between the 1930's and 1960's. Any recommendations on models, vintage, etc.? Don't tell me to get a Besson Sovereign; I collect horns on a budget!
'55 King Master Cornet
'40 Conn Aida Trumpet
'21 Boston Alto Horn
plp
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As much as I love old Conns, I would advise against most of the Director series. It isn't that there aren't good ones from all years, or that you can't find them cheap in good condition. It is just that if you are old enough to post on a website, you will push it to the maximum it was designed to do pretty quick. I HAVE picked up 3 good ones, a '60 18-A, a '63 17-A, and a '57 18-B, all with copper bells. I have sold all of them and heard no complaints, but they all went to guys that wanted one for sentimental reasons, usually because that is what they started on.