• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Double buzz, advice needed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BlackVoid
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:11 am    Post subject: Double buzz, advice needed Reply with quote

For some reason, lately I've been plagued by this nasty double buzz that usually creeps in around the middle register. I've been playing for 9 years now, and never before have I had a double buzz until now. It's incredibly nasty to hear.

Anybody have any suggestions that can fix this problem?

Assistant Principal Trumpet, Hunt Valley Symphony Orchestra
Trumpet Player, Slow Lights
deleted_user_fdb91a0

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just tension inside the mouthpiece. Relax the lips.
BlackVoid
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can a double buzz occur because of some surface problem on the lips? My top lip feels weird these days, it's all hard in some areas and has a few bumps and stuff on the surface.

downdawg
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would hope that a teacher at your university would be able to help you through this.

Also, there are quite a few posts on this in the archives if you search on "double AND buzz" -- not sure how useful they would be.

----Please take the rest of this message with a grain of salt; my level of confidence in matters of embouchure and mechanics is such that I would not presume to give anyone advice in this area.----

I had this problem severely in 2001, and I got more and more frustrated, and finally, over a week or so, my sound deteriorated to how it sounded when I was a beginner in elementary school! (I was 28 in 2001.)