• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Is this a scam?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> trumpetherald.com
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trpt.com
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:07 am    Post subject: Is this a scam? Reply with quote

It sounds like it to me. I have never used the Marketplace before. I recently placed an ad (http://www.trumpetherald.com/marketplace.php?task=detail&id=1622)
and here is the initial response I got:

Their message: Hi,I saw the trumpet that you advertised for sale.
I will like to know if it's still available for sale.Also,what is your
final price and include the recent pictures if available.I will be
waiting to read from you.

Which then was followed back with this(!):

Hello,
Thank you very much for the mail.The reason I am sending you this email is to make final confirmation of this trumpet and also to let you know that payment will be by Certified Cashier's Check . In view of this I need you to email me any information that may be required to send the payment , as I do not want to send the payment to a wrong location lest they gets into the wrong hands.
Regarding the shipping, I have a company that takes care of the pick up of my consignments for me and ship to my destination anywhere in the U.S.A.,you do not worry about shipping, the company will send down a representative to arrange the Sales documentation and the pick up from your end for onward transfer to my destination.
I also want to alert you on the fact that you will be receiving an overdraft payment , which will cover the money for the pickup (pickup and shipping to the final destination) as well as the money to be paid to the company that will take care