• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Selmer Paris Concept TT - another view

View previous topic :: View next topic  
junkyt
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After an exhaustive search, I (gulp) plunked down the money for a Selmer Paris Concept TT last week, and so far, I can't seem to get this stupid grin off my face.

First, some history: I am a 'comeback' player. I started playing in 2nd grade after Dizzy and his band played at my elementary school's multi-purpose room (no joke). Played a couple student horns (Yamaha, Mercedes II), and then jumped up to a Bach Strad 72. Played that horn all the way through college in symphony, big band, rock bands and the like. After college, I put the horn down and didn't return to it until 9 years later (4 years ago). At that time, I started playing mostly small-group jazz, and found very quickly that I did not like the Strad very much. It felt very hard to play, and seemed to give me too much resistance. I played a friend's vintage Martin Committee, fell in love with the sound, and found a 1946 on eBay, which I purchased and played, pretty happily, I should add, until last week. But I have started to play more rock/R&B/lead type stuff in the last year ($$), and found the Martin to be somewhat limiting...hard to play up top, thin-sounding, not great projection...

So off I go on the oddessy that is finding a new horn. There is a new wind instrument store near Seattle called Dick Akright Music, and Jimmie let me take out many horns to try. I played the Conn Vintage 1 (all different bells, finishes, bores, etc.), the Kanstul Wayne Bergeron, Kanstul Chicago 1001, Yamaha Xeno, Yamaha Bobby Shew, and various Bach's, just to see. While all of these horns had their merits, they also all had issues (or should I say, I had issues with them).