• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

1956 Martin Imperial--intermediate or pro model?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
markp
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 5:14 pm    Post subject: 1956 Martin Imperial--intermediate or pro model? Reply with quote

I spent my Labor Day in Vintage Trumpet Heaven--Robb Stewart's shop in Arcadia, California.

I had a grand ($1,000) burning a hole in my pocked and had read on his website that he had some interesting old trumpets. I went there hoping to fall in love.

I tried:

1) 1969 Connstellation 38B
2) 1967 King Silver Flair
3) Kanstul Mariachi previously owned by high-note phenom Steve Reid
4) Three Olds Mendez horns
5) Olds Studio

I'm a wanna-be Chet/Blue/Art Farmer guy looking for a smoky-sounding jazz horn. I tried all of the above and was sadly headed for the door.

But as an afterthought, I asked Robb if I could blow on his 1956 Martin Imperial trumpet. He had a Committee there in the shop that I didn't even bother to try. I didn't have even close to the $2,000 that it cost.

I wasn't interested in the Imperial at all because it isn't a Martin HANDCRAFT Imperial. The posters here at the TH have told me that only pre-war Martin HANDCRAFT Imperials are great. After WWII, according to what I've read, the Imperial became an intermediate/student horn.

But....it was love at first blow! It perfectly matched the sound in my head that I was looking for. Even Mr. Stewart, who is usually very reserved, immediately commented. He had heard me on the other horns trying to get all dark and fuzzy. He said that that horn sounded very Committtee-ish.

For what I was looking for, it just blew all the above-mentioned horns away. It had intonation that was as good, or better than all of them. A smoky sound to die for and a fluid responsiveness that just knocked me out.