• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

To empty spit in a recording studio... offensive?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Motrpt1
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:12 am    Post subject: To empty spit in a recording studio... offensive? Reply with quote

In the last decade or so of being a professional musician, I've been to lots of studios, concert halls, clubs, etc, in the US and latin america. I always let the spit out on the floor, and so do all of my colleagues. Noone who I play with carries a towel on their lap or anything like this, and we've never offended or outraged anyone by doing it.

Until now.

While working in Europe this summer, the group I'm playing with was invited to record in a mobile non-profit recording studio, basically an oversized RV stuffed with the latest studio gear. Judging by the equipment alone, it was obvious that they don't record much with acoustic instruments. After the first few takes, we took a break, and in the meantime they gathered us around to tell us that although we sound great, they were highly offended by the brass players (2 trpts, 2 bones, and a tuba) emptying their horns on the floor, that it's rude, offensive, and unhygenic. They also implied that it's rude everywhere, not just in their studio.

Has anyone else recieved a comment like this from a venue? What would a proper response be? Educate them that it's no big deal, or just put some paper towels on the floor and be done with it (we chose the latter)?
tomba51
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote