• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Martin Committee Large Bore

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
rmacklem

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:48 pm    Post subject: Martin Committee Large Bore Reply with quote

Hello all…

I recently acquired a 1957 Large Bore Martin Committee Deluxe from Josh Landress in NYC. First I want to give the highest recommendation to Josh…he is a great guy, a great repairman and trumpet maker, and man does he know his stuff. I've purchased 3 horns from him over the past couple of years and have always been very satisfied.

Back to the Committee…wondering if there is anyone out there who is playing the LB, and if they have any comments about them. I am a pro living in Toronto Canada, having recently relocated here from the USA.

I have owned 3 medium bore Martins in the past. I found that they played too small for me, and were not very versatile, though I always loved the sound and response.

I have been both surprised and delighted with with the LB…I have played it on lead Big band gigs, a wedding gig, a gig where I was playing mostly Tower of Power lead parts, and a small group jazz gig. The horn handled all beautifully! IT blended well with other trumpets, felt great when pushed, and played dark and smoky like the med bore but with a wider sound on the jazz gig (what I wanted).

Most of all, I feel like I can 'be myself' on this horn. it has a rich, luxurious sound that is very malleable…I for awhile was playing a med bore NY Bach for lead and a Conn 8B lightweight artist for everything else…both great horns but this does both BETTER (for me at least)

Wow…long post to start a thread my apologies….

I also have a couple of questions….maybe some people out there in trumpet land can help answer…I'll leave them for another post…this one is already too long!

Thanks!
Pre-War F. Besson flugel
mcgovnor
Heavyweight Member