• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Teacher Help!!!!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jam_Man_Tpt
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am now a freshman in college and my trumpet professor is one of those guys who thinks Bill Adam's approach is just ridiculous. He just "warned" me about the teachings and a former Adam student who is a professor at a major university. I have been taught the Adam approach and I have been using it for over 3 years now. What should I do?
Marcinkiewicz E12.4 Ingram

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia
-Epsilon Gamma

"Once a Sinfonian, Always a Sinfonian, Long Live Sinfonia!!!"
robert_white
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How come it's only now that this conflict has come about? Didn't your new teacher know who you studied with prior to going to college? Didn't he ask you about any of this stuff when you auditioned? Seems weird that he'd accept you knowing you studied with an Adam student and then suddenly spring this on you. It's too bad, though.

Anyway, I guess all you can do is talk openly with your teacher about why he feels this way. Maybe with more information about his conceptions regarding Mr. Adam's teachings, it would be easier for PH or whomever to give you advice. In the meantime, I'd advise you to not burn a bridge by being defiant or insubordinate. Use communication to sort this out!

Best of luck, Ben.

Bob

[ This Message was edited by: robert_white on 2003-10-01 19:31 ]
Jam_Man_Tpt
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob,
The professor is new at the university. He wasn't hired until this summer. I auditioned in the spring. He left in the dark about his students. What is really unfortunate is that he is the only professor that gives trumpet lessons.
Marcinkiewicz E12.4 Ingram