• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

CHET BAKER did not know scales or chords....CAN YOU BELIEVE?

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MFaddicted
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: CHET BAKER did not know scales or chords....CAN YOU BELIEVE? Reply with quote

CHET BAKER did not know scales or chords....CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT?

I am studying jazz improv and found out from my instructor, who played with Chet plus loaned him his trumpet on several occasions, CHET DID NOT KNOW SCALES AND CHORDS in the way most of us know.
THAT BLEW MY MIND!
I said: " So, in the middle of Autumn Leaves, if i went up to Chet and said what chord did you just use that tritone sub on......he would have know idea"!!!
Is that ridiculous?????
I really cannot believe my hero, Chet Baker, did not know a freakin scale or chord.
Can somebody bitch slap me with some evidence that what i have been told....is 100% wrong....PLEASE????
etc-etc
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is because as much as music theorists would like to believe to the contrary, music is intuitive first and logical second. Scales and chord names are not as important as being able to use them.
scatanas
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not related to Chet Baker, but I personally knew Gipsy players that played by ear and improvised like crazy, but could not read the C major scale.
bike&ed
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scatanas wrote:
This is not related to Chet Baker, but I personally knew Gipsy players that played by ear and improvised like crazy, but could not read the C major scale.