• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Cracking Notes

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Thomas T

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:23 am    Post subject: Cracking Notes Reply with quote

I am cracking notes and it is driving me insane!!!

I started playing again last November after a sixteen year layoff (got burned out in college). I am doing what I can to practice everyday and I've made good progress. I know that practice and time will cure my issues, but those danged cracked notes! These can be from D in the staff to beyond the D above high C...doesn't happen all the time, but once is bad enough! It really hurts my ears when this happens, lol. Can anyone recommend any specific drills to help smooth out all the notes? I know that time will iron things out, but I'm looking to fast track as much as possible.

Thanks.
Don Herman rev2
'Chicago School' Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hear the note in your mind before you play it. Focus. "Song and wind."

Interval studies with unusual intervals can help.
dstdenis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on why the cracks are happening. Sometimes inadequate air support makes us undershoot. Sometimes fatigue is setting in and we push the air extra hard to compensate. Splee-ah! Sometimes we need to work on efficiency and responsiveness so that our lips will vibrate without requiring a big blast of air to get started. And as a result of that, sometimes our articulation is too heavy.