• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Rotator Cuff Surgery

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Donald S. Reinhardt
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BeboppinFool
Donald Reinhardt Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 7:12 am    Post subject: Rotator Cuff Surgery Reply with quote

In another forum a few years ago, a trumpeter with the username “tptplayer” wrote:
Having been through a spinal fusion surgery as well as having rotator cuffs too badly damaged for surgery to be advisable (yes, too many second opinions concurred) I'm interested in finding out just how many of us have some rotator cuff or spinal problems that we suspect MIGHT be trumpet related. I have played for a living my entire life, playing trumpet sometimes 8 hours a day in studio sessions, many 3 hour rehearsals followed by concerts,etc. I have suspicions that there be correlations to holding the horn and injury, but no proof.
Any ideas/comments/thoughts?

I just got my MRI results and sure enough, I have a full tear of the rotator cuff as well as a bicep tear. I am scheduled for surgery one week from today and was told to expext to wait three months or so before resuming trumpet playing.

I would love to hear some experiences from members of the Reinhardt community out there who have gone through this procedure and its recovery process and what I need to prepare myself for. Thanks, everybody!
Vin DiBona
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just went through left shoulder rotator cuff surgery in February.
Mine was partially torn with arthritis developing and a tear in the bicep as well.