• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Piston cleaner?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
heavyharmonies
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2003 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just received the following in email from someone viewing my (incomplete) trumpet website. It struck me as interesting, and am wondering about any potential downsides... or is this urban legend?

Thanks,

-Dan

My name is Rick and I have been playing the trumpet for 14 years now and started playing when I was blown away after seeing Miles Davis play in concert before his untimly death in 1990.

I have had a lotta horns: Getzen, A new Red Laquered Martin Committe (the Miles Davis Triblue horn by Martin). Most recently my Girlfriend bought me a Red Laquered Maestro for Xmas 2002 which I love playing cause it was such a wonderful gift from my girl and it has a great dark tone. My girlfriend also made me the most beautiful case for my gift made of velvet. Unfortunatly since it is only a student horn it has nickel plated pistons and they have very quickly become tarnished with the typical black tarnish.

I can home from work recently and to my delight my girlfriend showed me one of my pistons totally CLEAN like new! I couldn't believe my eyes and asked how she did it. She sat me down as I watched in disbelief as she took everyday Heinz Catsup and immersed the two remaining pistons in it. I really thought this was some kind of joke as I dont like catsup and she does. She left the pistons coverd in catsup for 30 minutes and then began to buff them with a flannelette cloth.