• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

A 20 year rest between lessons!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Anthony Miller

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:01 am    Post subject: A 20 year rest between lessons! Reply with quote

Following a 20-year break I recently started playing again after seeing a local brass band had a training band and were inviting people to join. I played trumpet previous but have taken up cornet - which I really enjoy! I never had a great range (probably one reason why I stopped playing) but I'm diligently practising every day using Eric Bolvin's books as the basis of my comeback. (progressive Warm-ups etc) and I'm slowly creeping above the staff. I've jumped in and found to my cost that I need more rest than I thought. I'm trying to approach my playing with some thought now and gradually picking up helpful information here but trying not to over-analyse. So, that’s about it for now. Thanks for a great forum and for all the helpful advice that I've found here.
Harry Hilgers
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:49 pm    Post subject: Re: A 20 year rest between lessons! Reply with quote

Anthony Miller wrote: