• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Callet X5 (vintage) vs Civiletti TCE 3 Custom

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jerome Callet
View previous topic :: View next topic  
shakuhachi
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 5:16 am    Post subject: Callet X5 (vintage) vs Civiletti TCE 3 Custom Reply with quote

After playing MF mouthpieces on Bb trumpet several years now as an amateur I changed to cornet since September 2016 with a teacher. After experiencing several cookie cutter cornet rims I landed with a Bach MT Vernon 12 B: this was a great change from MF high alpha angles and sloping rims setup on to low alpha angle cornet setup of ourse.

Since 2nd of December 2016 I tried some high note trumpet playing again using a new Callet X5: this was marvelous. Short time later since 8th of December 2016 I got a TCE 3 custom which I played exclusively until 31.12.2016. After a new year rest of 3 days I tried it again faced some problems and took the X5 again - this was marvelous again: less air, easier resonance.

I found the inner edge of the TCE 3 to be too sharp for me and the rim to flat and wide. May be the change from no rim edge at all (MF design) to that design was to desperate. The X5 is near to modified MF v-cup designs I like (like Stomvi GHM VR HG) but it has very narrow bore and a great lead sound which is easy to achieve. I found if one can play easy, soft and with less air without pressure over one octave at a time and attain the high register mostly effortless - both: slurred and articulated....that is it.

The X5 will be my companion further on now.
trumpetplanet
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow! Thanks for all the feedback on this topic shakuhachi (across various topics... this response could easily belong in three different places).