• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

My progress after two weeks TCE / Questions

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jerome Callet
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Justus

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:20 pm    Post subject: My progress after two weeks TCE / Questions Reply with quote

Hi,

I've started using the TCE approach a little over two weeks ago and already see great results (Here is a short demo of my playing two week ago). I've read a lot through old threads here and picked up many interesting/helpful ideas. Thanks for that!

However, since I am doing the transition independently (without any teaching), I thought it would be nice to actively share/discuss my current experiences/struggles.
I've been using anchor tonguing (behind bottom teeth) for several years now and thus already had a relatively good range. However, since I recently started playing with TCE, I need much less effort and am getting a setup that is consistent throughout all registers.

However, there are a few things that are unclear to me despite my extensive research on the subject:

-Does the tongue thickness (and/or pressure against the lower lip) change with register (i.e. does it need to be very thick for low notes or am I wasting tongue strength)?

-I currently use a no-name 7C mouthpiece and am reluctant to go shallower (which is often encouraged with TCE as I understand) because I do like a darker sound. Is a dark sound entirely inconsistent with the goals of TCE, i.e. am I hurting my progress by sticking to that sound ideal?

-Is it possible to do too much spit buzzing (or TCE playing), especially in the beginning phase, and thus getting a stiff (tired) tongue the next day? How fast does the tongue muscle really recover? How fast can one strengthen it by being diligent?