• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Pet peeve: poor instrument hygiene

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jazztptplyr

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:26 am    Post subject: Pet peeve: poor instrument hygiene Reply with quote

As a teacher, I make sure that my students, at a minimum, clean their instruments twice a year. I know they do this because we set aside several days post-concert to do it in class.

However, time and again, I am appalled whenever I try friends' horns, buy horns off of other people, etc, and find poorly maintained equipment. The first thing I do when I acquire a new horn is to give it a bath and then lubricate it up to my standards. I understand some people have multiple horns and some sit for a while, but I would think it would be common courtesy to clean an instrument before selling.

I think we on TH should try to uphold a standard of care in buying and selling and strive to ensure that we teach that ethic to our students and colleagues!

*Stepping off soapbox*

What are everyone else's thoughts on this?
Turkle
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I purchased a modern horn off eBay one time that was so disgusting I couldn't even bring myself to even touch it. I brought it immediately to the shop for a full in-and-out cleaning.

Revolting.

Clean your horn! It is so easy!
trickg
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just recently bought a used Strad, and it was both bone dry, and very dirty. It also has some minor damage, so it's getting ready to go to my tech, who will do a once-over on the whole thing, which includes a sonic cleaning.
- ACB Doubler

"95% of the average 'weekend warrior's' problems will be solved by an additional 30 minutes of insightful practice." - PLP
dr_trumpet
Heavyweight Member