• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Easy playing medium bore horns

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
deleted_user_19c01b1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:34 am    Post subject: Easy playing medium bore horns Reply with quote

I am an intermediate student, and out of curiosity tried a rotary and liked it so much that I only practice on that and have not touched my medium-large bore piston trumpet for a long time. It is a very easy-playing horn - requires very little air and I find it very easy to jump between partials. It has a much smaller bore than a piston trumpet and I attribute the ease of playing to that- I read somewhere on these forums that players think the Schilke B6, B7 are also easy to play because of their medium bore.

To the trumpeters who play larger bore horns, do you find the medium-bore horns easier to play but you don't like them for other reasons? Or, for you the larger bores are just as easy to play and they have some other advantages?

Thank you,
Peter
Brad361
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe there are many factors besides bore size that affect how a horn plays, Renold Schilke wrote about that. If a smaller bore size works for you, play that, but I don't think there are any absolutes regarding bore size and playing characteristics.

Brad
Turkle
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My medium step-bore Yamaha 8310z is the easiest horn I've ever played. Quite literally effortless. If you get the chance to try one, give it a blow.

I also used to play my Connstellation (small bore) as my main axe for many years. Great horn, but not as effortless as the Shew Horn.
Trumpetingbynurture
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've heard good things about the Ingram