• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Carol Brass 3C mouthpiece: good choice for a beginner?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ephemere

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:18 pm    Post subject: Carol Brass 3C mouthpiece: good choice for a beginner? Reply with quote

Hello:

My 4th-grade daughter is going to take up the trumpet, so after some amount of research I ordered a Carol Brass CTR-5000L-YST-L horn for her. While I wait for it to arrive, my attention turns to mouthpieces.

The Carol Brass horn comes with a 3C mouthpiece. Is this a good choice for a complete beginner, or should I look elsewhere? I've read a few threads recommending things like a Bach 7C and a Yamaha 11B4. Mainly, I want something that's going to be easy (not frustrating) for a nine-year-old who has never played. I understand it may depend on the geometry of her mouth, but I'd love to get any feedback from you seasoned folks.

I should mention that I know a little bit about reed instruments and string instruments, but I'm completely unfamiliar with brass instruments.

Thanks!
zaferis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Conventional rule of thumb will be to say that it's probably not the best choice - a touch on the big side (that is if Carol Brass mouthpiece numbers coincide with Bach specs - I don't know that for sure without looking it up)
If so, something smaller, more middle of the road is probably a better starting point. Bach 7C, Yamaha 11B4, etc

I will also add that I think the choice of trumpet is too big, or too pro, if you wiil.. yes, a decent trumpet for a developed player looking for a light-weight instrument. Not the best choice for a beginner.
I'd suggest holding onto that one - and renting a "beginner" kit for the next year +, until she developes some chops and knowledge of how to handle and care for a trumpet.