• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Adult trumpet beginner - Advanced pianist

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jafuentes3

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:34 am    Post subject: Adult trumpet beginner - Advanced pianist Reply with quote

Hi everyone!
This is my first time posting. I am a pianist starting my Masters in Jazz performance. I am seeking your help because I fell in love with the idea of learning some trumpet (with the purpose of aiding my pedagogical skills - I don't know anything about brass!) I am really serious about it and I know it is a huge undertaking.

I've asked a lot around for what would be a good starting horn. I've heard really different answers from everyone I've asked (from plastic to pawn shops!) I value all of your opinions highly and I want to read your thoughts on this.
Thank you!
LittleRusty
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have enough money purchasing a used pro instrument, Bach, Yamaha, Getzen, Kanstul, Shilke, and others, you can get an good instrument that will hold its resale value.
cheiden
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd recommend renting a Yamaha student model, preferably one that's in good repair. You can't go wrong. Ideally, you'll sign up with a teacher just to confirm that the horn is in good working order and to help you choose a suitable mouthpiece, though I hazard that the 11B4 would be a sensible one to start.
Bach 3C rim on 1.5C underpart
Jafuentes3

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your advice. If anyone else has something to say about more affordable instruments or which brands to avoid please let me know. I am looking for as much information as I can.

Thank you!
trickg
Heavyweight Member