• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

When buying used horns...

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jafuentes3

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:20 pm    Post subject: When buying used horns... Reply with quote

What are things you are usually cautious about when you buy an used horn?

It is my first time playing trumpet but unfortunately I am in a really tight budget.

Some people have suggested plastic trumpets. What are your experiences with these?
Also, someone suggested buying used trumpets. Someone is selling a Holton T602 (which I understand it's good!) Apparently he says that the valves are sticky. Is this easily repairable? Worth the buy?

Please let me know your thoughts. Thank you!
ruotjoh
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would stay away from plastic trumpets. Some of them play ok but that's not something that you want to use as your primary horn. Buy some well-known student horn in good used condition (Yamaha 23XX, Olds Ambassador etc).

First thing you should check is the valves. If they are sticky even when cleaned well then stay away from it. Sticky valves, stuck slides or any visible dents around them will probably lead to problems. Some small dents in the bell or crooks are easily fixable by your local repair tech and doesn't affect playing that much.

Always try before you buy. If possible, play some scales and and listen sound and intonation. If everything works and you're pleased what you hear then it is a good horn. Even better if you can get a pro player to test the horn for you.

Good luck!
blbaumgarn
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:54 pm    Post subject: when buying used horns Reply with quote