• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Physical Approach and Long Tones?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Claude Gordon
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bsharp82

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:57 pm    Post subject: Physical Approach and Long Tones? Reply with quote

Hi All,

Newbie here , but learning all I can, enjoying the gradual process of development and hopefully improving!

Can anyone shed some light on Physical Approach? I'm especially confused about the Part II exercises in Lessons 16 and 23 where the last notes are supposed to be held long or not? I read somewhere that Claude Gordon meant the long holds to strengthen the blowing muscles of the upper-body and not meant to tax the lip muscles. I notice that after playing the long holds above G in the staff my lips become all stiff the next day.

Thanks all!
HornnOOb
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:20 am    Post subject: Re: Physical Approach and Long Tones? Reply with quote

bsharp82 wrote:
Hi All,

Newbie here , but learning all I can, enjoying the gradual process of development and hopefully improving!

Can anyone shed some light on Physical Approach? I'm especially confused about the Part II exercises in Lessons 16 and 23 where the last notes are supposed to be held long or not? I read somewhere that Claude Gordon meant the long holds to strengthen the blowing muscles of the upper-body and not meant to tax the lip muscles. I notice that after playing the long holds above G in the staff my lips become all stiff the next day.

Thanks all!

What I can suggest, is that you take a deep breath and play your long tones as evenly and consistently as you can and blow your full breath through the horn, even if the trumpet sound stops. While blowing long tones, listen to your tone and make small adjustments as needed to find the tone quality you are happy with.