• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

My 1 week long playing collapses

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SaxoTrump
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:39 pm    Post subject: My 1 week long playing collapses Reply with quote

I've been playing trumpet as an amateur for almost 10 years now and I believe I finally got the proper feel of it if you know what I mean. That is I no longer rely on pressure, I settled on a center-focused embouchure with good lips padding and I know how to control the air. For my amateur needs that's all I need.

What worries me however is that from time to time I experience dramatic 1 week long collapses in my playing abilities. In the worst case it can take up to 2 weeks!
A usual scenario goes like this: I play normally for a couple of months within my current range and from day to day it goes without much variation. I play/practice for couple hours a day. Sometimes there are 'bad days' but I now know how to deal with them: it takes just a little longer to warm up and I can turn one into a 'tolerable day'.

Then suddenly with no apparent reason one day I take out the trumpet and I feel that my lips just don't want to play. There is no vibration in them at all. They feel completely like I'm blowing through cotton wool. It's not like a typical 'bad day' that I described above. It's something different I can't explain. No amount of warm up can cure that state. It's just like wasting my time on trumpet. It just "doesn't play".

It will last for at least one week (sometimes up to 2 weeks) and then at some point it will just 'click' and return to normal.