• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

What brass instrument did you start on?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
trumpet56
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 pm    Post subject: What brass instrument did you start on? Reply with quote

There are many posts discussing the size and specifications of trumpet and cornet mouthpieces'. I wonder if it relates to the instrument that we started learning on. I started playing tenor/alto horn at the age of 7, the mouthpiece on the horn was wider in diameter than the cornet or trumpet and had a deeper cup. The mouthpiece shank although shorter than the trumpet shank is the same width. I have always done best on the bigger trumpet and cornet mouthpieces although I use smaller mouthpieces on the eb/d and piccolo trumpets.

How has your first mouthpiece effected your current mouthpiece choice?
Steve A
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think it had much if anything to do with my current mouthpiece choice (Wedge 1.25 C), but for what it's worth, I started on tuba at 10, changed to baritone at 11, then trumpet at 12, and stuck with it.
trumpet56
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steve A wrote:
I don't think it had much if anything to do with my current mouthpiece choice (Wedge 1.25 C), but for what it's worth, I started on tuba at 10, changed to baritone at 11, then trumpet at 12, and stuck with it.

+1
HERMOKIWI
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I started on a cornet my father bought at a garage sale. To answer your question, I don't know what mouthpiece I started on (it was the mouthpiece that just came with the cornet) and it hasn't affected my choice of mouthpiece today in any way.
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member