• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

York Cornet?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bulgakov

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:56 am    Post subject: York Cornet? Reply with quote

I think I had this in the wrong forum, so have reposted here.

I came across this on our local version of Ebay/Craigslist in NZ. The seller does not know much (it was listed as a trumpet), but he says it has York written on it, and it looks like it has a serial # 119146.

Any ideas? From what I have seen from other threads and Horn-U-Copia, York made some nice horns. Does anyone who knows about these things reckon their is something worthwhile here, or is it more likely junk? I thought I would ask on the off chance this is something worth having a closer look at.

I'm a relative beginner playing cornet (not my own) in a local brass band (in addition to trumpet in a community orchestra), so I am in the market. Not a whole lot of viable options come available here, so I don't mind putting a little money into it if the original horn was good to begin with.

See the link:

https://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=1497260356
mike ansberry
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In their early years York made some fine instruments. The ones I've seen from their later years were pretty bad. I'm not sure what era this is from, but it looks like it's from the later years.
Bulgakov

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike ansberry wrote:
In their early years York made some fine instruments. The ones I've seen from their later years were pretty bad. I'm not sure what era this is from, but it looks like it's from the later years.