• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Overplaying and Fresh Chops

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
CJceltics33
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:45 pm    Post subject: Overplaying and Fresh Chops Reply with quote

I keep hearing that a trumpet player should always practice on fresh chops, rest often, and to stop when the lips just begin to become fatigued. But I also hear that many professionals in high school/college used to “beat themselves up” in the practice room, spending 3, 4, 5 hours practicing each day regardless of fatigue.

I am a sophomore in high school, and I struggle with endurance. I’m trying to improve it to get through the Hummel that I have to perform in February. For the past few months, I’ve followed the approach to practice in sessions and get adequate rest in between each session and exercise. However, my endurance still isn’t where I’d like it to be, and largely is day be day to how long I can play.

I now wonder which is the better approach for a player as young as I am. Practice as much as possible (still with rest) to ensure development in necessary fundamentals? Or practice merely as much as the lips can handle? Because honestly, I can’t get much practice in if I want to stay fresh throughout, although it could be due to over practice the previous day...

Thank you for your input!
homecookin
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Developing and maintaining endurance is an issue that
all trumpet players deal with no matter what their level of
development.
It is not wise to continue to practice when you have reached
the point of diminishing returns as far as your embouchure is
concerned. Breath control also plays an important part of
developing endurance.These are issues that take
time to develop properly.