• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Self taught trumpet practise schedule advice - beginner

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jordynbaxter

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:46 am    Post subject: Self taught trumpet practise schedule advice - beginner Reply with quote

Posted in the wrong bit so moved here.

Looking for some advice on how to break up my practise sessions to make the most efficient use of the time (about an hour weekdays, maybe 2/3 at the weekends). 

Currently literature i have at my disposal: 

Arbans 
Clarke technical studies 
ABRSM jazz grade 1 repitoire book with backing track cd 
ABRSM classical and jazz scales/arpeggios books 
Embouchure builder book 

Routine i tried to follow last week was: 

5mins warm up (mouth piece buzzing then long tones middle g down to low g) 
15 mins clarke technical study 1 
15 mins embouchure builder 
15 mins arbans 1st studies (1st page) 
15 scales 

I rest after each line/ exercise for the same time played but even then the arbans was a disaster, couldn't even play a the 4th line D and middle c was ropy. And that continued to the next day where i one arbans 1st, so i think i busted my chops up a bit. 

Really disheartening, am i going about things the right way or can someone maybe suggest a better format for laying out my practise time?
dstdenis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't recommend the Arban method for a beginner; it's too difficult (even the first page). Instead, you might try 100 Progressive Lessons, by Hickman (paper or digital download), or Mitchell on Trumpet Book 1.