• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Professionals Playing Student Flugelhorns?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
dsmowersmusic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:00 am    Post subject: Professionals Playing Student Flugelhorns? Reply with quote

Hi, I’m a college student who is starting professional gigs and work outside of the educational scene. I’ve heard from one of my professors and several other people that if I plan on getting a Flugelhorn (which I probably should at some point) that it might be worth it to just go for a student model if I’m not going to be using it all that often. I’ve been researching the Allora AAFG-103F which normally goes for $499 but is currently on sale for $399. Does anyone have any positive or negative experience with this horn or with student horns in general?

Dennis
benlewis
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ryan Anthony used to use a Yamaha student model flugel and. of course, sounded great. I have another friend who plays a Blessing flugel.

However, I'd strongly encourage you to consider the Trent Austin doublers' model. I own one and use it more for shows than my Yamaha YFL-631. It plays 99% as well and I'm not worried about banging it up. Down the road, you may want to purchase a Yamaha pipe; that improves the plying even more.

I'm very happy with the ACB flugel and Trent and his employees are very helpful.

HTH

Ben
cheiden
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recall liking the Yamaha student flugel quite a lot. Picking up one of those used might get you a perfectly acceptable horn for minimal cash. If you really prefer buying new then the ABC or Dillon horns get consistently good reviews.
Bach 3C rim on 1.5C underpart
trpthrld
Heavyweight Member